so… we’ve moved households deeper into Alpharetta. now, I may start using “Milton” – like most everyone else.

meanwhile, living out of boxes is never fun. but, it can be an adventure. and, there is always the potential for something new and interesting to occur.

here is a fun and simple example…

Joanne makes lunch for Haley Anne and Emma Jo every morning. that’s certainly typical. most Mothers do this (mine did for me and my younger brother). so, that is unremarkable.

but, I hung back at the house this morning to get the garage under control. Joanne had some extra sushi and home made chocolate chip cookies. I’ll pause here and admit that I have a defined weakness for chocolate chip cookies. I could write poetry about the way way I feel about chocolate chip cookies. so, she put some sushi in a container and made a point of putting three chocolate chip cookies (have you sorted out by now that I love chocolate chip cookies so much that I write out all three words each and every chance I get?) in a small baggy. I did not think this was a necessary measure because my plan was to eat them, all three of them, mind you, on the way to my offices. but, Joanne was determined that I have a properly layed-out lunch.

this was when it struck me I needed a lunch bag, like the girls – or, a box. And, of course, it needs to be a special box. I told her about my old Racer X (Speed Racer) lunch box, and my Major Matt Mason lunch box. so… now I need one of those.

Joanne took a breath and offered: “well, let’s just make it Vera Wang, then”.

you need to know Joanne to appreciate her wit. but, now I’m stuck. and, don’t you dare laugh at my colorful, and trendy lunch kit. having said that, I’m willing to accept, as a gift (please!!!) a vintage Major Matt Mason lunch box.

peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

brian patrick cork

