God gives us wives because it pleases Him to do so. Then, and in turn, it’s our role to please those wives. However, there is no rule that requires them to be pleased with our “Servant Hearts”, tilting of windmills, or slaying of dragons. Indeed, behind every great man there is likely some woman rolling her eyes.

To wit… A recent email exchange between Joanne and myself:

On Sep 26, 2010, at 9:33 AM, brian patrick cork wrote:

“With your clearance, I’d like to take your Cayenne and have it cleaned Wednesday.

I’m not trying to be a servant. Although it’s not lost on me this might please you. But, rather, this action, not un-entirely heroic, is simply in-keeping with the shallowness of my personnae. To wit, I’m electing to put on airs for Jeanette and Chris’s trip. /1 And, in effect, I suspect this will, at some level, please you as well. Because we both know it will make everyone all the more comfortable.

LvB”

On Sep 26, 2010, at 11:17 AM, Joanne Cork wrote:

“sure.”

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

_________________

1/ Jeanette is my sister-in-law. And, thusly, Chris is her (Jeanette’s) own white knight.

