so… I’m that guy, who, faced with great uncertainty, fueled by incalculatable odds and supported by evidence to the contrary of my very nature, is obnoxiously optimistic.

people, and collectively, have been telling me that I’m “nuts” most of my life (others have added “silly”, but I don’t want to discuss that, here). I’ll submit this sentiment is generally offered when tough spots are afoot.

but, wasn’t that the point when, during WWII, Lieutenant Kinnard advised General McAuliffe to tell a German vanguard “Nuts!” in the face of almost certain defeat, and then stood firm and victorious through four days of un-Godly hell?

by the way… isn’t God, really, the boss of both heaven and hell? our discernment (that he gave us) is a path, but he is ultimately the arbiter, right?

by the way… in eleven years I’ll be sixty years old. I have a lot of work to do between now and then, that will certainly require a great deal of enthusiasm and optimism. meanwhile, for the fiftieth year milestone, instead of scooting away for a romantic, and possibly self-indulgent weekend, Joanne arranged for my sister-in-law and favorite brother-in-law-ish (don’t get me wrong, I’m incredibly fond of Jeanette and Chris) to visit from England for a small-group trip to Boston. what should I read into that?

well… I’m fiercely determined to make it the best trip ever for Joanne, Jeanette and Chris, and pleased with the opportunity (I’m nuts about Joanne, and that’s not “silly”).

peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

