I’m standing here (literally), and I’m claiming a verified miracle.

For twelve months I’ve been in constant agony with the achilles tendon on both sides. The globe has promised to spin off it’s very axis with the alarm and concern this has generated. In fact, you can read about that here: Brian Cork Injures Achilles Tendon Extreme sporting World Draws Collective Breath.

Running has been next to impossible, except occasionally – and, despite the economy, the makers of Baer Back and Body tablets (super-charged aspirin) have realized a banner year with all of it I’ve literally choked down. Every time I sat still for awhile, or slept, they (the achilles tendons) would go stiff, and I carried myself like an old man, hobbling about, with arthritis in his feet.

Then I started running on the turf field at North Park here in Milton (formerly Alpharetta). I could tolerate that and began to carefully increase my mileage again. The scenery is tenuous. But, I allowed myself to be lost in thought (and, to be certain, many of the worlds issues are potentially resolved) as I hurled myself around the pitch for ever longer periods of time. Late last week I looked up from a cooling-down walk when I heard applause. Joanne had come over to watch me on her way to Publix.

That was cool.

Maybe it was a sign.

I started realizing about that time the pain was easing. Then after a run Wednesday, that included my best effort to date, I realized that I was feeling pretty fit, and there was almost no soreness. Today I came out of the shower with nary a hint of discomfort. To celebrate in my own special way, I knocked-out a quick one-hundred push-ups.

Just like that… Healed.

I knew you, collectively, would rejoice with this august news.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

