I have to admit I like the television show Glee.

But, can we agree, all of us, that this story represents a genuine, table-pounding, tragedy?:

Teenage Singer Charice Gets Botox for ‘Glee’ debut

“MANILA, Philippines (AP) — Filipino teenage singer Charice Pempengco says she prepared for her debut on the hit TV show “Glee” by getting Botox and an anti-aging procedure “to look fresh on camera.”

For Gods sakes!

I may come across as obnoxious (oh really? Again?)… But, if I could meet her Dad (assuming she has one), I’d like to knock him on his ass.

And, I refuse to ever watch Glee again, or download any of the great tunes they cover (dammit). And, I know Oprah is going to get wind of this. I’ll just pray my views have no negative on our joint efforts around: texting and driving to death.

Young girls have so many things that distract them from being confident, poised and unlimited in their potential. Perhaps you are thinking it’s easy to be judgmental and take pot-shots at problems whilst failing to offer solutions.

Not me!

So… A partial solution, for me, has been to show up daily in the lives of my daughters (and, their friends). I coach them in soccer. And, I’ve always felt “the beautiful game” was a terrific platform to demonstrate the value of teamwork, discipline and tradition.

I’m ready. All you Dad’s out there; let’s go.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

