It’s no secret that I got my butt seriously kicked in Colorado.

There was a period of time where it felt like God was taking so many things away from me and my family.

It would have been so much easier to duck and not be accountable. My partners took that path. But, I held firm in my belief of self and some form of unrealized potential for good. I faced a daily Kobayashi Maru. There was no sense of righteousness, mind you. Just a steely resolve to do what felt right. And, I learned there is a vital difference. And, perhaps thusly, began my own path understanding God’s gift of discernment.

I’m grateful for the pain, much of it burned into the back of my head; the wound fresh and itchy, as if it all happened just yesterday. The hollowness in the pit of my stomach a constant reminder of what I don’t want to be; and, what I can be.

Today, if I’m judged in an unfavorable light, I probably don’t “see” it because I am surrounded by so many good people and great opportunities. My Grandad – and, you’ve read a lot about him on this Blog – said: “if you are going to judge a man, do it by those around him”.

All of my experiences – the good, and the seemingly bad, have prepared me in the form of what God needs me to be, to help other men (I’m a surfer, so everyone’s a dude), make ever-better decisions, and realize their own potential. It’s part of living an authentic life.

So, God puts good men in my hands because I think he pushed me hard; he tested me and my mettle – and he trusts me.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

