First of all, “networking” was invented about the time God created – someone else.

Today, younger, and less imaginative people have decided to call networking aka communicating “social networking”. It’s really cool, and different, just the same.

In any event, social networking sites like LinkedIN work because they are, essentially, platforms where we can discuss and promote ourselves. That’s why we’re attracted to them. There is likely more effort, there, to refine ones own profile, rather than striving to communicate meaningfully with other people. But, racking up contacts is like keeping score, so that’s kind of cool.

I’ll take some initial heat for participating in LinkedIN myself. But, I really do try to make it a tool to better my business community. I have very few talents or skills. However, linking people in ways that help them profit emotionally, intellectually and financially is absolutely one of them. I have more endorsements than you to prove it.

The key, I think, is something Joanne Sanders (see what I just did? Joanne is now famous!) once said – right in front of me: “Its people talking about what you care about”. Or, maybe it was: “It’s people caring about what you talk about”. Either way, that’s got to be a, if not the, standard for successful networking.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

