I’m waxing sophomoric, here, and distilling some thoughts into the simplest of terms.

Practicing Christians will hold that forgiveness (which is apparently divine), and “turning the other cheek”, are vital elements to a sustained scociety and civility civilization.

Muslims extol the thinking that an “eye for an eye” can offer similar benefits, albeit with a greater emphasis on an ultimate and expedited solution.

A reason, but not necessarily, the reason, for my pondering much of this stems from my current investigations into existentialism and heterodoxy. In fact, you can read through my initial thinking here:  dangers of the authentic Life.

I understand, sort of, why it might make sense to turn a cheek when someone takes a swipe at you. But, on the other hand (perhaps literally) it also makes sense, to me, that if you cut off the hand that offends, the perpetrator can’t won’t likely repeat the mistake offense.

…pausing, here… I use the cross-out effect for affect – just so you know.

It takes character (ponder that play-on-words) to absorb a lot of Christian-oriented punishment. However, in the Muslim perview, the limited number of limbs (and life) increases the sense of urgency when it comes to playing fair.

Somebody has to pose these question and sort out the thinking. It’s what Prudent and Optimistic Gentlemen, do.

Peace be to my Brothers and sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

