Everyone needs to be prepared. And, I mean everyone.

I am preparing to explore the vital differences, and of course, the similarities, between the heterodox and the existentialist.

This is, at it’s very core, a formidable undertaking. A shift. Everything, what ever that may be, can or could (see: I’ve already begun to realize the existentialistic results) change.

Existentialism despite profound doctrinal differences, generally holds that the focus of philosophical thought should be to deal with the conditions of existence of the individual person and their emotions, actions, responsibilities, and thoughts. It is not some abstract set of theoretical truths. In simpler terms, it’s a no-nonsense philosophy that encourages you to take a hard look at your life and ask two essential questions: Who am I and how shall I live?

As determined readers of this Blog know, a Heterodox is that hearty and ferocious person that questions everything, and accepts little of it. We can respect the tradition, but we must challenge the foundation. The truth, of the day, is evolutionary.

So, I begin with a juxtapositional questions: Does existentialism and heterodox lead one to the other? Or, is there a vital point of integration for confluence?

Then: Is this, finally, the Kobayashi Maru? Could this be that holy grail? Is it the final application of God’s greatest of gifts to us – discernment? Is this where we find the most fertile ground for reflection and representation?

William Shakespeare, Friedrich Nitzsche, Jean-Paul Sartre, Fyodor Dostoevsky and Ayn Rand proceed me. Thank you.

Stand by. Everything, the very fabric of the universe’s truth, is possibly at stake. The promise or the punishment. Being vulnerable and ready to change. Risking or improving one’s self.

…wait…

Perhaps you are asking, first, why I might embark on such a potentially self-indulgent journey? Well… This is something I am, at first, simply prone to do. But, it also requires that I be ready and prepared to evolve. You see… I seek ever-greater authenticity.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

