A REAL MISS AMERICA (maybe)

I’d heard this story through channels. And, I’ve not verified it. I just like the idea – and, fancy you will as well.

But, nonetheless, perhaps you’ve heard this tale.

So… I’ve hauled-off and shared this with my thirteen year old daughter, Haley Anne.

Below is a mock-up of a twenty-two year old ex-cheerleader (who is now apparently; although not evidently, an Air Force Security Forces Sniper) watching a road that led to a NATO military base.

As the story goes, she observed a man digging, and otherwise fussing, along a road she also wanted to protect.

She exercised her best option and engaged the target (i.e., she shot him) as he was bent over burying the bomb.

It turned out he was a bomb maker for the Taliban, and he was burying an IED that was to be detonated when a US patrol walked by thirty minutes later.  It would have certainly killed and wounded several American and allied soldiers.

For me, perhaps the most interesting element of this story is the shot was measured at seven hundred and twenty five (725) yards. That’s a kill-shot twenty five yards longer than seven football fields.

The round went through his butt, and into the bomb which then detonated; he was blown to pieces. And, it’s likely the last thing that came out of his mouth was his ass. A fitting end for a coward and terrorist.

Of course, my little Princess (a formidable soccer captain and defender nonetheless) will say: “Daddy, you can’t say ass”. However, she’ll have a great example of when it’s possibly okay to use such language, as well as the type of thing she can do with her own life.

Although I’ve not seen it deployed, I’m told the Air Force made this motivational poster of the sniper:

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

