So… I’ve been  advised that one can walk away from a family sur name for less than $19.95. You don’t even need a lawyer. Seriously… You can apparently, and easily, access such diabolical documents over the internet.

Some times, more often than not, I might submit that the internet is a portal to the pits of hell. More on that later – else I run the, not unusual, risk of digressing and distracting from another point.

I suppose the story is more complicated. And there are too many ironies behind this post for even me to explore, today.

But there you have it, reader, one of those twists life cruelly offers us. Some expected and girded for. Others with no hopes for such largesse.

I don’t believe that I’ve realized agony like this since I watched Mom fade to black, while in the grips of cancer; dragged into the abyss, unaware that I was holding her hand; and, likely uncaring.

I’ll run far later today. Just to be numb. And, pray for the pain. At least I can make that stop with some element of my will. Another Kobayashi Maru?

I’ll likely refer to Dante’s Inferno, seeking some insight. The Bible rarely works for me.

Meanwhile, I’m listening to Ralph Kirshbaum’s Suite No. 1 in G Major, BMV1007, V. Menuet 1 and 2. And, Sia’s Sunday (mostly because it’s so damn self-indulgent).

On a positive note, I’m taking Haley Anne (thirteen) to the Black Eyed Peas concert at Phillips Arena tonight. It’s lost on her, for the moment, but I think it’s cool that we like a lot of the same music.

So, I’ll also be listening to selections of their work through the day as well.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

