I’ve discussed this in, possibly, more detail with an earlier post: being pleased or being satisfied.

However, along a different track (but in so many ways the same), Friday night Emma Jo and I were at the annual Daddy’s and Daughters Dance at the Intercontinental. Woody Faulk, a Chick-fil-A stalwart, has helped sponsor the event for going on six years now.

We had a terrific time, although I’ll submit that much of the excitement is focused on the weeks leading up to the big event (that dress, and the right shoes, are a really big deal), and the sore feet to prove it. Although Emma Jo was quick to point out that they failed to play any Selena Gomez songs (or, John Mayer, and Daddy sings those tunes really well).

I had the opportunity to lift my head up and observe many of the fathers with their daughters. And, I was struck by many, and many more variable images.

And, this thought:

You can spend your time, waste your time, or invest your time. It’s your choice.

I feel great about mine. Especially how I relate to my girls.

We can’t just show up. This was greatly evident to me as Emma Jo clung happily to me, whirling slowly to the sound of a song that she could care less about.

This morning I’m listening to Fly to Your Heart by Selena Gomez (with Emma Jo working on a project nearby). It happens to be associated with Tinker Bell. And, Heartbreak Warfare by John Mayer.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

