Matt Rosenhaft recently commented on our business Blog (its true… we have one of those. it’s simply not as much fun) [you’ll notice, perhaps, that I’m not even linking from this post to that business Blog] that:

“As for Brian, those of us who know him, know that he practices the “give to get” model religiously. It is the core of his being. At the same time, he runs a business so it would be natural to reference an example of something that he practices for himself in his business in his personal blog. His personal blog is about what he is thinking and his observations on life.”

Matt (whom defines Cerebral) [by the way… I like Matt, quite a bit] had a lot more in mind while crafting that comment than I’ll give him credit for in this post. The point I’m trying to affirm is that, what you read in my personal Blog, is what I’m thinking about. And, even though this preamble might have suggested I was building up to something meaningful, possibly significant, I’m not.

Today, it’s about that which should be obvious.

Tonight is the annual Daughters and Daddy Dance at the Intercontinental Hotel. This is a very big event in the Cork household. This is mostly about Emma Jo and myself (but, Mommy needs to help A LOT). The tradition includes a lot of excited discussion, planning, the weekend trip to the dress shop for a new dress, and accessories, the hair dressers (is that what’s it’s still called?), getting nails done, making sure Daddy wears a tie that matches the dress, buying shoes that can be taken off as soon as we hit the hotel ball room, etc.

For a few magical hours it’s all me and Emma Jo. I’m the center of her universe (and, she is the core of my own).

Many fathers speak of how quickly these times come and go. They mourn, often while the daughter is still very young, how they lost track, and how they failed to connect with their girls. I often discuss, on this Blog, how I feel God’s greatest gift to us is discernment. But, that discernment is often best utilized to enjoy an almost equal gift – which is having a little girl that absolutely adores you for no other reason than you have the absolute privilege of being her Daddy. Little boys are smelly. But, daughters are always Princesses. Well… At least in my house, always.

How many of you are reading this post, and there are thousands of you, and only now comprehending that you aren’t going to a Daughters and Daddy Dance?

Maybe it’s not too late.

Consider leveraging that discernment outside of business, and addressing your daughters. I promise you, the rewards will eclipse, by naught less than a HUGE margin, any satisfaction you realize from a business transaction, or a frakking round of golf.

By the way… I’m fairly confident that I know most of the Selena Gomez and Miley Cyrus songs. And, I’m ready to dance to every single one of them this evening.

UPDATE: Read the comments of this post. Man… What a perspective. Thank you Gary, really.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

