“I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest.”

John 4:35

There is a hapless fellow in our community that came to me because he wanted a job. I asked him what he envisioned as his career-path over the next five years.

However, he was not interested in coaching, and only wants a: “job that pays [him] enough to go on missions and lets [him] retire at fifty-five”.

In the absence of that, he asked if I would be interested in giving him money for a Ministry that connected people in China and taught them how to play golf. I was, admittedly, skeptical, and, instead invited him to drive around Alpharetta with me to pick up bags of clothes for kids that, for example, don’t have matching shoes. NOTE: This is an effort underway through one of our Shocker Mom’s, Mary Guthrie.

He was not interested, some how, in that opportunity.

I can’t be certain from whence these people come from. But, come they do. And, I find myself drawing inspiration, of sorts, from them.

As readers of this Blog, for example, know, I’ve long evaluated many religions, and draw my actions from many of them. The Christian Bible offers that quote above from the book of John. And, it’s a reminder that, perhaps we need to be open-minded from whence we draw our inspiration, and to keep our eyes open, for all manner of opportunity.

I say this, in part, because opportunity abounds today. A current theme of my Blog, of late, has been commodities-centric. Good and bad, success and failure, are all relative. One mans misfortune may be at the hands of another’s great hopes and efforts. An example is a new “home” that was a recent short-sold house, or that purchased after a foreclosure. Of course war, and competition are other examples.

In any event, the imposing image of the above pictured canine offers critical perspective in terms of how we can see the world around us, and how we treat and relate to the gifts around us.

Pick your battles carefully. Seek truth and light. Serve where you can. Be an example.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

Disclaimer: Obviously, the animal pictured above is not Rowdy – and, that is certainly  no sofa I’d have in my possession (at least in this decade).

