Perhaps it’s only the calm before the storm.

Storms do, after all, tend to clear the air, and make things feel more alive.

It seems like President Obama is making some headway. But, alternative leadership will declare this is an illusion created by the “obamacratic” media.

What happens when people finally come to the ugly terms that Obama has led the Fed in cutting a deal with banks that favors foreclosing on tax-payers homes by subsidizing the difference? He is also touting healthcare reform that he, along with members of the House and Senate, are exempt from. Is that when people rise up? Or, is that Byzantine (Of, relating to, or characterized by intrigue; scheming or devious: “a fine hand for Byzantine deals and cozy arrangements”) example the harbinger of change?

I don’t feel like bashing Obama any more.

I am, in fact, I am a proven patriot; and, willing to be a freedom fighter. But, what does that mean? For today and tomorrow? The winds of change are blowing stiffly through the country, and around the globe.

It’s storm-like because of the upheaval around shared economic pain that is historically unprecedented (but, certainly nothing new from a Biblical perspective).

I’ve been using a central “commodities” based thinking in some of my recent posts, coaching, and public speaking. Interpreting or defining losers and winners is challenging, but that investigation might prove rewarding.

So… Once I allowed myself to surrender to that notion, God jumped me with a different line of thinking:

Assuming God has the plan (and I do). What if He is using Obama, in an unexpected way – to break this country so it can begin to heal itself, later?

Apparently the Muslims have a saying: “the Promise is in the punishment, or the punishment is in the promise”.

I can’t say with absolute certainty such a line of thought actually exists in the Qur’An. …I better go investigate that as well. Or, perhaps one of my Muslim brothers can wade-in (even though I’m not Muslim, that person is likely still my brother). But, it certainly offers a dramatic platform for thought.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

