Rusty, who, as it turns out is my new Mormon Brother (I’m not a Mormon, but Rusty is nonetheless, my Brother), and I have concluded that texting, for example, is one of those innovations that fall under a new term “degevolution”.

I’ll pause, here, and grimly advise you that Rusty is the author of the aptly named: Mormon Conversations. I’ll warn you in advance, though, in reading this Blog, you will find yourself amidst unsettling information that includes the debunking of certain myths that include: “Magical Underwear”. You may well, also, find you like this fellow with a big family, and a heart and life story, to match. He’s a pretty fair writer. Certainly better than me (but, that’s easy). And, perhaps more notably, there is transparency, rather like Drew Tilghman, and some useful observations in-and-around a life well-lived.

In any event, but, also in truth, we were using the word devolution. However, I looked it up, and it’s already being used for an entirely separate purpose. So, for the moment, and, certainly relevant to this post, it’s utterly useless to me, and my self-important desire to create a new word that is meaningful and useful (and, a potential blunt-edged weapon worthy of making one of my inarticulate points).

Let’s see if we can work degevolution into our working lexicon. I’ll need your collective help and support with that.

By the way… I use so many comma’s that I have this sudden concern I might read like James T. Kirk. Obviously, you’ll need to be a fan of Star Trek to truly appreciate this (I am, but, call me not a Trekkie).

Meanwhile, Rusty and I found ourselves discussing his life ambitions this afternoon. Our dialogue, however, has it’s genesis with me commenting on his Blog – which in turn had him visiting my Blog, and stumbling upon one of my posts: Texting and Driving To Death.

We (collectively the father of eight children), decided that texting is one of those technologies (or, is it a derivative of technology?) that is degevolutionary because it facilitates educational and social awkwardness while also adding a barrier, to, what some of us, might deem as good or meaningful communication. …and, well, if you do it while driving, you might kill our children.

I suspect Rusty is reading this post, and possibly scratching his head. We, in truth, only had bits and pieces of this discussion. I’m taking enormous liberty, here, and expounding on a tangental thought. So, hopefully, Rusty is also grinning, and content with the spirit of this posting effort.

Thanks Rusty (but, let’s hope we are much more famous; at least highly regarded, for other contributions).

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

