On another Blog, far from here, there is to be read a quote backed by this rambling missive.

I’ve read that dissertation a few times now.

It’s circular thinking, I’ll submit.

But, it also strikes me that this Jiddu Krishnamurti fellow is saying, without meaning to, that God is so BIG that we can’t comprehend Him or what He does. If that is the case, it’s fair and reasonable. Or, I’m reading into Krishnamurti’s words my own beliefs. Readers of this Blog know that I see God (even though I still have a mote in my eye) in most everything. But, I’m trying to be fair, reasonable and open-minded.

I’m interpreting that what Krisnamurti says reads like we should be open-minded and seeking. I’ll agree that questions are always good and healthy. That’s what the Heterodox does best (rather like Tigger).

Krishnamurti also seems to be saying there would be no evil or warfare, for example, if God actually existed. The existence of evil supposes, then, there is no God – according to Krishnamurti.

However, I’ll offer that this is where God’s gift of discernment could come into play. Man represents the potential for good and evil. God might represent an ideal. The definition of that ideal is obviously different for many people. Look at John Hagee’s position, whether you think he’s a lunatic or not, relative to Hitler and the Jews (and Hagee received a humanitarian award from Israeli leaders). Irony abounds.

In any event, I’m okay with, and happy to assume God is big, and we’re something of an experiment in the form of a petri-dish. Belief in a higher power may have been formed as we realized our deepest fears around only fading to black at the very end of our existence. That light at the tunnel, as it were (or, will be).

But, that’s okay – right? This gives us something to reach for. An ideal with which to hold ourselves accountable against.

That seems fair and reasonable. Maybe comforting, like Tigger. Certainly something I’m willing to work for.

By the way, as I fade to black myself, I’m not sure what I should expect. But, I do hope that someone is whispering in my ear: “Oh well done, fair and goodly man. You’ve finished well”.

Today, I’m listening to I Will Not Bow by Breaking Benjamin. But, also, Daughtry’s Learn My Lesson.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

