I don’t watch as much television as most people. However, having said that, I will admit that I do watch more television than some people. Maybe just one other person. Yet, some how, that remains a qualifier unto itself.

Have you met people that will, and with a straight face, advise you that they “…don’t watch much television – other than the Discovery Channel”. That only tells me they might be overly obsessed with penguins. It might also signal they miss opportunities like “Bored to Death” – which can only be found on HBO. And, that’s fitting, because, other than the FOX soccer channel, SYFY (because of “Battlestar Gallactica”), and the Disney Channel (because Emma Jo likes it), HBO’s about it for me.

Let’s get back to “Bored to Death”.

Bored to DeathThe show follows the misadventures of a fictional Jonathan Ames, played by the inestimable Jason Schwartzman, whom also starred in “The Darjeeling Limited”, which I’ve reviewed, sort of, on this Bog, in the past, as he pursues his quixotic dream of emulating his heroes from classic private detective novels. Rather than face reality, Jonathan turns instead to his fantasies – moonlighting as a private detective (and, in the series premier, he’s warned not to pursue this path by an over-tolerant police detective, and I know this is going to be pivotal, somehow) – because he wants to be a hero and a man of action. You should know that I THINK “Bored to Death” is making an effort to pass itself off, in part, as film noir. /1

George Christopher (Ted Danson): “I need marjiuana… Jonathan… Are you at a party? Are there women?”

Let’s pause a moment, and be clear… in my view, everyone needs to see “Fandango” and the “Darjeeling Limited“. Neither are closely related to this post. But, go watch them all the same. Do it! Watch those movies, I mean.

By the way… I had the opportunity to bring back many a bitter sweet memory this weekend while attending the Journey concert at the Verizon amphitheater. That new dude, Arnel Pineda is amazing, and truthfully so. He often channels Steve Perry. But, I miss Steve Perry. So, here he is, singing I Stand Alone, because, and – no drama meant by this, I often feel that way myself.

NOTE: Mr. Perry is performing this song for a Disney movie. So, this has been my chance to introduce Emma Jo to a piece of my own past. Sunday, Emma Jo and I were whiling away a few hours rummaging through iTunes while I told her stories about myself, Curtis Burton the Third, her Nana (my Mom), and a host of other folks. She had her head on my chest.

It was wonderful. And, I’ll likely post about it later.

Peace be to My Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

_______________

1/ Film noir began in the 1930’s and remained as a strong cinematic medium until the early 1960’s. Film noir literally means “black film” in French and features themes which are more negative than positive, with an overall dark and shadowy outlook – being filmed in black and white. This film genre takes in detective and crime noir as well as many gangster films of the 1930’s. Noir also moves into more modern films combining with other genres. These would include western noir–“High Noon”, romance noir – “Laura”, crime noir – “The Big Heat” and even modern detective noir – “L.A. Confidential” and “Chinatown”.

On the other hand, such details might be lost on you. Or, you don’t care. I do.

