I probably have Michael Jackson, some how, in the back of my mind a lot these days.

He is gone, and I don’t like that.

I don’t watch much television. But documentaries are popping up left and right. I was really surprised at how wistful I got watching footage of him from the 1980’s and early 1990’s.

To be very candid, and I know this is going to invoke some recrimination from his detractors (God knows I have a lot of those myself). But, I think we, as a community blew it. It was easy to write him off and make fun of much of his public (and perceived private) activity. He was absolutely bizarre at times. But, I often had this sense that much of that was driven by some off-center PR mechanism. He craved being in the news with great spectacle – and his handlers (this includes advisors) fed us with what might be more mythology than fact.

Much more important to me was his commitment and passion for entertaining – and, his ability to blow us all away is still impossible to match by any other performer that comes to mind. When I hear his voice – like with Man in the Mirror, I just can’t envision a monster.

I don’t want to go on with some insipid tribute to him. But, in my own unique and, typically oblique way, I want to point out that we are all really going to miss him.

I know I do.

Remember We are the World? Michael Jackson put that together with Quincy Jones.

The “kat” was a change agent.

I have nothing but good thoughts and memories around Michael Jackson.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

