As readers of this Blog know, I am currently engaged in a titanic struggle betwixt loyalty and practicality with regards to my utilization of not necessarily Smart Phone technology.

I recently abandoned my 2nd generation iPhone for a Blackberry Curve 8900 because the iPhone kept dropping calls, and reception within my offices was abysmal.

The Blackberry is now actually a “Macberry” – however, that is a completely different story.

The ugly truth of the matter is that the iPhone has arguably the worst radio of all the Smart Phones, and AT&T (currently the sole-provider of the iPhone) has demonstrably the worst cellular coverage of all the major providers (I just don’t know if it’s due to over subscription or just lousy decision-making). But the combination can make for a horrific (okay at least exasperating) experience.

I am making this case because A LOT of people read this Blog. Also because readers understand what an otherwise passionate Apple evangelist I am (so, this is clearly a big deal); and, the people at Apple read this Blog and listen to me (Apple closed down about 4 points Wednesday after I spoke with an analyst about my concerns).

Fix the problem please.

By the way… The Palm Pre is a nifty device. But, as I have already stated on this Blog, it’s not an “iPhone killer” (the considered act of throwing your iPhone against a wall because you dropped yet another important call with a client half way around the globe is certainly an iPhone Killer). The essential reason for this is that it’s not (ironically) an iPhone – and, therefore, not cool enough.

NOTE:  a Macberry is obviously cool – but mostly because it represents resourcefulness. It’s still a work-around – from my unique perspective, anyway.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

