I understand, and reasonably so, that many readers of this Blog have resolved to endure endless and sleepless nights until they have an update with regards to the gripping saga that is Haley Anne’s entrance into the world of Lacrosse.

This saga begins here with my recent post: Lacrosse dna.

womens lacrosseAs everyone should know, Haley Anne and I visited the Starz Soccer and Lacrosse Complex here in Alpharetta and have had an opportunity to work one-on-one with Coach Mike Boyd. Mike coached the Milton High School Girls’ 2004-2008 State Champion teams. As luck will have it, Haley Anne will play (if she sticks with the game) in the Milton feeder system.

I admit that when Haley Anne gripped her first (girls) Lacrosse stick I was convinced it would result in a bonding similar to that of King Arthur and Excalibur.

It was not nearly so dramatic.

The pocket is more shallow in a girls stick than that of the mens version. So, cradling is more challenging. She was a bit stiff.

But, she stuck with it – perhaps grimly so at first. Her athleticism and speed will carry her for awhile. Coach Mike was very complimentary. His own daughter, Molly, was a High School All-American. But, I get the impression that is simply his style. He clearly has a big heart and a boundless passion for the sport. Molly is terrific, and an ideal role-model for any group of young ladies.

After a few sessions I asked Haley Anne what she thought.

A cautious:

“I like it.”

Was all I could get.

However, she called (actually texted) many of her Shocker (soccer) teammates and rallied them to next weeks mini-camp.

That’s a good sign.

So… Naturally, I went to Dicks (Sporting goods) Friday and bought a bunch of girls Lacrosse sticks (and several balls of pink colored balls). Mind you… Joanne expressly told me NOT to do this only last week.

But, this is Lacrosse. And, Haley Anne is showing an interest. And, I am obsessive (and, at least self-actualized).

The only concern that I have is Lacrosse and Soccer conflict. So, now I need to leverage my force-of-will and convince Fusion Soccer to be “open-minded” when it comes to scheduling soccer practice and matches in the even there is a conflict with what might be Shocker Lacrosse!

It’s going to be a great summer.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

