I am one of those fellows that is willing to reference a alleged quote that may, or may not, be accurate. I do recognize, as flawed as I am, that this can make me appear wise and experienced, or simply ignorant.

A reasonable example of this is:

“In the Qur’an it is said that the promise is in the punishment, and or the punishment is in the promise.”

Well… Something to that effect. I, admittedly, have never verified the veracity of this quote. Probably won’t bother. But, if anyone that reads this Blog can verify it’s accuracy, one way or another, that might be terrific.

Now, and perhaps, finally say you, my point begins to take form.

I don’t really know much of anything about the Qur’an other than it puts Christians on edge, and Thomas Jefferson studied it in great detail, and ultimately arranged to have his favorite copy donated to the Library of Congress. It ended up being used to swear in then Democrat Representative-elect Keith Ellison (out of Minnesota, naturally) who, in a way, both made history (his and Jefferson’s), and a point. You can learn a bit more about that by reading a prior post of mine: A Great Bargain. Jefferson was concerned about the Muslims, so he worked hard to understand them. Ellison had become a Muslim, and apparently strives to keep minds open around tolerance.

Recently, I have been thinking along the lines that there is often an unexpected opportunity (not necessarily a “silver lining”); possibly a pearl, or “pearl of wisdom” to be had when we are faced with challenges and/ or adversity. However, under most circumstances, I believe the result is very often a gift.

“That which does not kill you, can make you stronger.”

…how trite, eh?

Maybe not.

wild-at-heart3Joanne and I have been at odds. The issue is potentially me not being sensitive to “rescuing the beauty”. It’s not quite that simple, but the concept, in this case, comes from Wild at Heart by John Eldredge. Men often seek validation in venues such as work, or in the conquest of women, Eldredge observes. He urges men to take time out and come to grips with the “secret longings” of their hearts. This might require, for example, that I evaluate what she needs and wants, and the best way for me to adjust and make her feel valued in a way that is meaningful specifically for her (not necessarily my way). That is an opportunity from an unexpected situation that I had clearly not planned for.

We (well, actually, Joanne) Home Schools Haley Anne. She has ben stubborn and resistant of late (that would be Haley Anne, not Joanne). Now we may need to adjust the curriculum. Suddenly an opportunity has arisen for me to help pick a course of study – for example, something with Thomas Jefferson,  or perhaps the geopolitical ramifications of Jewish people and the Holocaust specific to events in-and-amongst the 2nd World War. So, this is an opportunity to for Haley and I to connect over mutual interests.

To be more clear on a less personal level:

Pieces of sand find their way into live clams and are actually an irritant. Over time the sand is “worried” by the clam who builds the small piece of sand into a much larger and polished pearl, that might eventually become a wonderful gift.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

