At some point, unfortunately, you might conjecture this post represents miscellaneous ramblings. I am still sorting through the theme.

Off we go…

I don’t often directly discuss my secular work on this Blog. However, it is often the case, what occurs in-and-around my work, inspires my outside thinking.

Our Accelerator (a unique twist on a startup incubator. We have gone so far as coining the phrase “spinup” company – which is pre-startup) is getting traction and loads of attention. For example, earlier this week Bob Twitchell and his engineers (a ferocious and hardy crew that can spin code like few others) made high-tech history. Through a successful test, they accomplished a networking technology feat never accomplished before – right here in our offices, and I was a witness (and, took a picture with Bob’s iPhone for good measure).

Will I change the world? Have I changed the world? Will I at least get a footnote once the multiple pages that result from Googling (a lot is there; naught to hide; unsure if there is enough to boast of) me dissipate after I go to China?

More on that later.

Meanwhile, I recently found myself explaining my passion for Blogging to Joanne. If you check out my post Jehanne (that actually began with inexhaustable Brian Visaggio), you might read between the lines and understand that it is, in part, about her. I believe the name  Joanne is possibly, derived from “Jehanne” (It has also occurred to me this might be an interesting school lesson for Haley Anne – me drawing a correlation between Joan of Arc [Jehanne] and her own mother). In any event, this is a consistent theme with my Blog that only a few people have picked up on. There is meaning underneath what I say. And, often the titles of the posts drive their own message that are, hopefully, if not always well articulated, affirmed in the post. The process simply fascinates me.

But, I have recently come to realize that I have lived most of my last eighteen years trying to please Joanne. It never seemed to be enough. I really tried the best way I knew how. Ever resolute, I have every intention of revitalizing my efforts and making Joanne, Haley Anne and Emma Jo as happy as God will allow me.

I am working through an opportunity that may represent something of a second chance. It’s a tough spot that is requiring a lot of discipline in the face of enormous pressure. There is a lot at stake. The alternative is unimaginable.

According to WordPress analytics A LOT of people looking for Racer X find me.

Meanwhile, The Mote in God’s Eye, is a Science Fiction novel written by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, and first published in 1974. The story is set in the distant future of Pournelle’s CoDominium universe, and charts the first contact between humankind and an alien species called “Moties”.

None of that is particularly relevant to this Blog or my streaming thoughts. However, the title of the novel is a wordplay on Luke 6:41–42 and Matthew 7:3–5 and, that is, indeed, relevant to my current thinking.

41 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but perceivest not the beam that is in thine own eye?

42 Either how canst thou say to thy brother, Brother, let me pull out the mote that is in thine eye, when thou thyself beholdest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, cast out first the beam out of thine own eye, and then shalt thou see clearly to pull out the mote that is in thy brother’s eye. – Luke

However, it comes together in terms of personal experience and history, political rhetoric and public commemoration. Starting from the visual and textual documentation of a certain contextual day’s events, and the competing interpretations of its meaning and significance, the authors examines the role of the image in defining a place in cultural memory.

In essence, this means the author argues that “dust” became the dominant visual trope, casting a cloud – both actual and symbolic – over our capacity to comprehend a complex and traumatic moment in history.

So…

These are all simply events in the life a man that is not so simple. There is your elusive theme, after all.

And, I shall spare you a video or link to a song like Dust In the Wind (I don’t like it much any way).

Peace be to my Brothers and Sister.

Brian Patrick Cork

