Were we taught through life that there might be a truth in every story?

“Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be one, he must approve the homage of reason than of blindfolded fear.” /1

So… here is a thought… I think a friend of mine laid this on me a few days ago…

“A scientist brings evidence, a priest brings cool stories”.

I fear (well.. believe. I don’t actually have a fear of any thing [seriously]). /2 this is often the case. It is also the main difference between an evolutionist and a creationist: one believes because of overwhelming scientific evidence and expert consensus; and, the other believes because of a “cool story” in a holy book that they were probably taught as a child — in spite of overwhelming scientific evidence and expert consensus.

Just for perspective, consider my prior Blog post How Long Is Seven Days.

All the evidence in the world could be against creationism (and, it is), and yet many would still believe.

However, paradoxically, you are not doing science when you refuse to seriously consider the other side’s evidence. After all, if we understand there is a God, he can work outside of time and space – right? And, you are not doing science when nothing could possibly convince you that you are wrong. You are doing religion.

And that is why creationism is religion, not science.

Peace be to my Brothers and Sisters.

Brian Patrick Cork

______________________________
1/ Thomas Jefferson as quoted in Jennifer Hecht, Doubt: A History, p. 360).
2/ Believe me… I have faced more awful shit in my life and remain standing than most men could ever hope to endure.
